2015 ISRRT DoseWise Radiographer of the Year

2015 ISRRT DoseWise Radiographer/Radiological Technologist of the Year

Want to be recognized as a radiographer for excellence in applying knowledge of patient safety and dose management in your clinical work?

In recognition of dose-conscious radiographers and to support radiation dose management awareness, the International Society of Radiographers and Radiological Technologists (ISRRT) is giving one radiographer the opportunity to become the ISRRT DoseWise Radiographer of the Year, encouraging radiographers from around the world to share best practices.

ISRRT will select one case that best demonstrates dose management practice. The Radiographer of the Year will be provided with airfare and entry to RSNA 2015 and the opportunity to present their idea to their peers. See official rules for full details.



You must be a practicing radiographer, and a citizen of an ISRRT Member Country or an Associate Member of the ISRRT.

Entry Period

May, 2015 through September 30, 2015.
The winner can be selected from any ISRRT member country.

We have a winner!

From amongst all the excellent submissions, the panel of the International Society of Radiographers and Radiological Technologists (ISRRT) and Philips have selected a winner. His name is Anthony Tessier, currently Diagnostic Radiographer at H.I.A Sainte-Anne Service d’Imagerie Medicale Pr. Arteaga in Toulon, France.

His response demonstrated very promising improvement, on a systemic level, regarding reduction of eye lens X-ray dose in head CT procedures using hyperflexion patient positioning. Eye lens exposure is one of the greatest concerns for both patients and clinicians as the eye lens is very sensitive to radiation. Although the benefit of the procedure outweighs the risk, it is incumbent upon the radiographer to use the least amount of dose necessary for a good diagnostic image.

His conclusions suggest that a dose reduction is possible when the patient’s head is positioned in a hyperflexion orientation and the scan starts above the eye orbit to prevent direct beam contact with the eye lens.

We congratulate our award winner, Anthony Tessier and recognize him as the Radiographer of the Year!